Pull up a bar stool Michael Lauren Jessica Heather Carrie We did WHAT that night?

*NEW* Shop the Drunky But Funky store!

Last Five Hangovers...
The Ten Thousand Dollar Choking Hazard - 2004-12-09
Mixing Advice - 2004-10-24
A Grave Injustice - 2004-09-27
A Short History of the Bloody Mary (in My Life) - 2004-07-31
If You Build It, We Will Come - 2004-07-19

Required Reading:

�� The Dirt: Confessions Of The World's Most Notorious Rock Band
�� The Bartender's Bible
�� The Hangover Handbook
�� The Ultimate A-Z Bar Guide
�� Why Do I Vomit?
�� Field Guide To Stains: How To Identify And Remove Virtually Every Stain Known To Man
�� The Booze Hound's Companion

Friends of DbF:

Bad Kitty Clothing
Casey
Dan
Dr. No
Drunk Bastard
Honky Slut Warrior
Jason
Modern Drunkard Magazine
Sotally Tober: Because It's Always Happy Hour Somewhere
Talk Like A Pirate
Diaryland -- our favorite bardender

BE A FRIEND OF THE MOVEMENT!

A Short History of the Bloody Mary (in My Life)

I've spent my entire life saying that I don�t like the Bloody Mary. Then, about a year ago, Jess and I were planning a relaxing day in Vegas, which included much pool lounging. She started talking about ordering one, and although we ended up too sleepy to go find the bar, she did order one later at brunch and I tried a sip. It was fabulous! I wondered why I had spent so much time hating this delightful beverage. True, I hate tomato juice as much as I love tomatoes. But once you added some pepper, some... other ingredients (okay, so I'm never totally clear on what goes into one) and most importantly some vodka and a celery stalk, it became heavenly.

Fast forward a year and I was waiting for a flight in the Richmond airport with one of our sponsors. We'd arrived early to get a co-worker to his flight, and found ourselves starving and with enough time for a leisurely lunch. Once we sat down, we quickly determined that this was the perfect time to start off with a Bloody Mary. I consider this one of the best decisions I've ever made. Sipping the drink after working an event, hanging out, watching the planes take off was the most relaxing, enjoyable airport experience I'd ever had. When later we realized I'd miscalculated my flight time and had more time left than I thought, we decided on a beer. And that combo made the first leg of my trip home one of the most mellow and enjoyable flights I've ever had. Alcohol? Relaxing!

I do believe that the Bloody Mary, with its perfect combo of spice and alcohol, was the most important ingredient of this good flight. I believe that day was the official beginning of my beautiful relationship with the vodka cocktail. When I next travel, I intend to keep this as an important pre-flight ritual, and next time I find myself poolside in the morning, or even tailgating before a noon football game, I will have it there as my friendly brunch companion - a friend who likes that part of day before the heat has set in, when I'm relaxing and enjoying the beautiful afternoon spread out before me.

While I don't consider myself a "home mixologist," and know my sieve-like mind (which can remember lyrics to any Def Leppard song but cannot hold on to someone's name within five minutes of meeting them) will not be able to bring up all of the ingredients on command, I know that my friendly bartender, or bartending friends, will help me out to keep this beautiful relationship of Girl and Drink alive and thriving. For remembering a recipe is not nearly as important as being resourceful and knowing where you can go to have someone serve you with a refreshing beverage, as this Drunky but Funky girl has learned.

--Lauren


The Night Before �� Home �� Wait, Who Are You People Again? �� The Morning After


Let us get drunk and wake up with you: Join the notify list.
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Copyright 2003, 2004 to Carrie, Heather, Jessica, Lauren, and Michael. We're not so drunk that we forgot this part.